Vegan Red Lentil Sauce

This hearty vegan red lentil recipe is an amazing alternative to your favourite Bolognese sauce. Packed with full of good vegetables and protein, this hearty sauce is the ultimate comfort food.

With my exams coming real soon, hard training weeks and the many answers I’m waiting for (like school admission or job applications) I’m a little stressed out and tired. Fortunately, this red lentil Bolognese Sauce exists to bring back some serenity and happiness in my life. And yes, food has the power to do that. This is one of my ultimate comfort food and every time I eat it, it reminds me of home a little. Except this sauce is not even my mom’s recipe!

While I was looking for new lentil recipes two years ago, I found a delicious Vegetarian Lentil Bolognese Sauce from Kacey The Cookie Writer. I adapted a few things in the recipe and it ends up tasting just like my grandmother’s Bolognese sauce… even if my recipe was made with lentils instead of meat !

Since then, this lentil sauce is one of the recipes I made frequently because it’s divine in so many ways.

Lentils are super healthy, nourishing and easy to cook,but a lot of people forget how great they are! Rich in proteins, fibers, potassium and manganese, they are amazing for your heart and your digestive system. Lentils can also increase your energy because of their high source of iron. And they are SO YUMMY.

This is supposed to be a sauce for pasta (and it’s delicious this way) but this recipe is so good that you can even eat it just like that, as a meal itself! It’s also surprisingly good when served cold.

So here’s my version of this Vegan Red Lentil Sauce.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cups dry red lentils
  • 2 ½ cups vegetable broth
  • 2 large carrots, grated (or 3 medium)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 (5.5 oz) can tomato paste
  • 2 tbsp fresh basil, chopped (or about 2 tsp dry)
  • 1 tbsp fresh oregano (or about 1 tsp dry)
  • Salt and pepper

Instructions

  • Heat oil over medium-high heat in large saucepan. Add onions and cook for 5 minutes, then add carrots and garlic and cook for 2 minutes. Stir in tomato paste and cook for 5 minutes. Add lentils, salt and pepper and cook for 2 minutes. Pour in broth, tomatoes, basil and oregano. Season with more herbs, salt and pepper, if desired. Lower heat and gently simmer, covered, until sauce is thickened (for about 25 minutes).

Serve over freshly cooked pasta (or not!). If desired, sprinkle grated Parmesan, green onions or grilled vegetables on top of the sauce. Enjoy!

Did you try the recipe? Let me know what you think!

Leave a comment

